I like buying a car about as much as having a hole in my head

ImageI do not like to deal with cars.  I want to just have a reliable vehicle that can comfortably transport my family wherever we need to go, whenever we need to go.  I will keep it maintained – good gas, regular oil changes and other maintenance, and washing/cleaning, etc, but otherwise, don’t bother me with such nonsense.  🙂

Buy a new one (even a “new to us” one) – BLECH!!

Well, this week, I am forced to begin that venture…again!  Two years ago, my hubby and decided that we *had* to have a bigger vehicle.  With four children, our Honda CR-V was just not cutting it. Yeah, it’s a little hard to put six people in a five passenger vehicle, especially when four of those bodies must be in car or booster seats.

So we sold the CR-V and made enough money to pay cash for a mini-van.  Of course, we were the third owners, and the van was nine years old, but hey, we could all fit.  PTL!!

We took trips in that van – the first to Tybee Island, GA.  It was highway driving, but it wasn’t too far from home, so we believed it was a good “test drive” trip.  We were right.  The next summer (2012), we traveled to Ohio for my grandmother’s funeral, and it held up just great!

In June of this year, we took it again to Ohio, putting 1800 miles on it as we zigzagged all over the Buckeye state (and even up in Michigan) to visit family and friends.

Then last month, we drove down to Miami for a Barnes family reunion and some much needed and desired time on the beach.  Another 1400 or so miles then – whew!

Then, it began to get overheated, and you guessed it, the radiator is shot!  Not only that, but there is also a leak somewhere in the engine core, but they can’t put enough pressure on it to see how badly that one is because of the radiator.  Needless to say, we are now playing “Taps” for our family’s mode of transportation.

I want to say, “That’s okay,” and it is, but I just don’t like the hassle.  I told my husband, “I wish a new vehicle would just fall from the sky.”  Well, of course, that wouldn’t really be good, but I think you know what I mean.

We are now trying to figure out what to do next, and praying to make a wise decision.  We know that we need a bigger vehicle, but we also know that this could be a stepping stone, as well.

So, what do I need to learn, and what am I learning from this experience.  Here’s what comes to mind, and in no certain order of importance:

  • Car shopping/buying is rarely a quick process.
  • Figuring the exact criteria for whatever vehicle you *think* you want or are going to buy will inevitably change.
  • If you have children, don’t take them with you.  They get bored VERY quickly.
  • If others are willing to help, whether that’s to find the right vehicle or to watch your children so you can do test drives and work out the financials, put those people to work.
  • Pray, seek wise counsel, and then PRAY some more.
  • Tell your friends about your need and being willing to share your fears and frustrations with them, as well.  If they are true and godly friends, they will understand, pray for you, and know that you’ll do the same for them in their turn.
  • Keep going with all the other parts of your everyday life as much as you can.
  • Make a decision.  If you’ve done your homework, taken time to look and test drive, sought wise counsel, and prayed, your decision will be the right one.  Rest in that.

Pray for our family.  I hope it’s not too long before the “new” vehicle comes.  However, whatever it is and whenever it comes, I will praise the Lord for His goodness and faithfulness.  I will praise Him for the outcome, but until He opens that door, I’ll “praise Him in the hallway.”

About heathercb02

I am a wife and mom, homeschooling our four children, running a business, and enjoying the activities my children like, especially church and Awana clubs. I love to write so much, and mostly about Health and Wellness. I love to promote my business, the opportunity and the products. When I have the chance to help others, whether with health, wealth, homeschooling, or just being a friend, it is the most fulfilling time of my life.
Aside | This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

