God *does* give us more than we can handle, but He *never* leaves us alone.

Folded Praying Hands on the BibleDeuteronomy 31:8, my life verse, says, “And the Lord, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee:  fear not, neither be dismayed.”  The Lord gave this verse to me before I left for college in 1994, and each time I am unsure about a situation in life, I recall it, knowing that He was (is) there before me wherever He’s told me to go.

We have probably all heard someone say at one time or another, “God never gives us more than we can handle.”  I’m sorry, but I disagree.  I think it would be better said,  “God never give us more than we can handle…by ourselves.”

Noah's ArkNoah was asked to build a boat, and he was given instructions that *had* to be obeyed:

  • Dimensions – 300 cubits long, 50 cubits wide, & 30 cubits high
  • A certain kind of wood – gopher
  • Covering with pitch (used to waterproof)
  • A door in the side – that God Himself would close
  • Two of every kind of animal (male and female)

Noah and his family were saved inside the ark because of their obedience to God’s instructions.

Here are several more examples that I would encourage you to read on your own.  I have included the Scripture references so you can find them more easily:

  1. Moses and Israelites crossing the Red Sea (Ex. 14:11-29)
  2. David defeating the giant, Goliath (I Samuel 17)
  3. Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego in the fiery furnace (Daniel 3)
  4. Daniel in the lion’s den (Dan. 6, specifically 16-28, highlight verse 21-22)
  5. Peter walking on the water (Matt. 14:28-33)
  6. Jesus on the cross (Matt. 27; Mk. 15; Lk 23; Jn. 19)
  7. Paul escaping death so many times (2 Cor. 11:23-28)

It’s quite a list, I know, and yet it may seem short.  I ask you, though, have you ever been in those perils?  Have you ever had to really suffer for your faith?  Have you ever had to be in a foreign country as a young person with no parental guidance or leadership, look an angry despot in the eye and say,The Fiery Furnace

O Nebuchadnezzar, we are not careful to answer thee in this matter.  If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and he will deliver us out of thine hand, O king.  But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.”  (Dan. 3:16-18)

That takes great faith!  That cannot be done on your own.

Life is overwhelming at times, and God is so good to give us the help we need in whatever capacity He deems best for us, and sometimes He takes everything and everyone away so He ALONE is the only One on whom we can lean.

I know some are thinking about the verse, I Cor. 10:13 – “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”

“See,” you say.  “There it is – ‘no temptation taken you but such as is common to man’ and’not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able.’   See, there it is!”

I know, but what about the other phrases – (1)  God is faithful,  (2) will with the temptation also make a way to escape, and (3) that ye may be able to bear it.

I ask you again, do you think that the perils of the people I listed before could be done alone?  They are common to us in that someone has experienced them before (you know, there’s nothing new under the sun).

Remember Phil. 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”The Cross on a Hill

It’s never about us or what we’re going through in this life.  It’s about Him, his strength, his faithfulness, and his love.

About heathercb02

I am a wife and mom, homeschooling our four children, running a business, and enjoying the activities my children like, especially church and Awana clubs. I love to write so much, and mostly about Health and Wellness. I love to promote my business, the opportunity and the products. When I have the chance to help others, whether with health, wealth, homeschooling, or just being a friend, it is the most fulfilling time of my life.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

